Your current location:Home -> Nobel Prize and China-> NOBEL PRIZE AND CHINA

Nobel Prize and China

Since the launch of Nobel Prize in 1901, Chinese missed several chances to be the laureate in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine Prize such as the great achievement to produce world’s first synthetic crystalline insulin in 1960s. That achievement is worthy awarding but Chinese missed application timing because of the cultural revolution and the number of 3 referrers. So far, 8 oversea Chinese were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics and Chemistry namely Mr. Frank Zhenning Yang & Mr. Tsung-Dao Lee (1957 physics), Mr. Samuel Chao Chung Ting (1976 physics), Mr. Yuan Tseh Lee (1986 chemistry), Mr. Stephen Chu (1997 physics), Mr. Daniel Chee Tsui (1998 physics), Mr. Roger Yonchien Tsien (2008 chemistry) and Sir Charles Kuen Kao (2009 physics). Moreover,  French-Chinese writer Mr. Kao Hsing-chien was awarded Noble Prize in Literature. And finally in 2012, Chinese Writer Mr. Mo Yan was awarded Nobel Prize in Literature who is the first Chinese laureate ever. Chinese pharmaceutical chemist Prof. Tu Youyou was awarded Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2015.

From1920s, many of the famous Nobel Laureates came to China such as Mr. Guelielmo Marconi, Mr. Albert Einstein, Mr. Brandt Russell, Mr. Rabindranath Tagore, Mr. George Bernard Shaw, Mr. Ernest Hemingway, Mr. Yasunari Kawabata, etc. Especially the 1938 Nobel Literature Prize Laureate Madam Pearl Buck, who had been living in China with her preacher parents for 3 decades and her prize-awarding masterpiece was also based on Chinese elements named The Good Earth. With the opening-up and rapid economic development of mainland China, more and more laureates came to China and some of them have visited China for more than 10 times such as Mr. Henry Kissinger (1973 peace) and Mr. Robert A. Mundell (1999 economic sciences). Some Nobel Prize laureates were invited as foreign academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chinese Academy of Engineering. Meanwhile, some of the laureates also established research organs in China to cooperate with Chinese scientists.

沪公网安备 31010402000610号